Some people think that the government should pay one of the parents of very young children to stay at home to look after their children.

What do you think would be the advantages and disadvantages of this policy?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Children are the backbone of our nation, who not only reflect its present, but also portray a picture of its forthcoming years. These young buds should be nourished and nurtured in the best way possible. Government can play a quintessential role in their upbringing by ensuring financial aid to offspring’s parent. Indubitably, such initiative is capable of bringing a plethora of benefits that are as under mentioned.

The first and the foremost reason to support young parents, is that of a lesser dependency on health care facilities eventually benefitting the government. This is due to the fact that maintaining a work-life balance becomes even more gruelling, when there is a child to be taken care of. Consequently, their health suffers and they consume medical services more, which otherwise can be avoided by taking a break from work by one of the parents. Moreover, there is no need to appoint a care taker which further proves economical.

Apart from the health of parents, positive effects on child’s development cannot be denied. Children grow, both physically as well as psychologically sound under their parent’s supervision as they receive immense love. Furthermore, it also reduces the chance of abuse and harassment by any other guardian thereby ensuring a safe environment.

Like every coin has two sides, such agendas have a few shortcomings as well. Primarily, government has a plethora of allocations, ranging from education to defence, employment to safety , which require an ample amount of finance. So, financial aid can act as a burden and also might hinder the functioning of other domains. In addition to this, there is a high risk involved with the funds being misused. Not only this, once a child learns to be in the company of a loved one, a sudden shock or trauma may follow, if a parent decides to start working again.

To encapsulate, financial help can undoubtedly influence the life of a pupil as well his family but, government needs to set certain regulations so that it can not be exploited.