Nowadays many people want to buy famous brands of clothes, cars and other items. What are the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

In modern days, people prefer to wear branded outfits, ride popular vehicles and own many other tagged items. The prime causes of this growing trend appear to be the pressure of maintaining social status and the impact of advertisements. In my belief, this is regarded as a contradictory trend for myriads of reasons.

Of all the numerous components which lead to this transition, one is the social status. This is because, in a world of technology and globalization, people tend to compete with one another in terms of fashion and modern appliances. Not to mention, these accomplices have become a symbol of modernity and prosperity. If someone is wearing non-branded clothes and do not own any high-tech piece of equipment, he\she would consider being either impoverished or illiterate. Another significant reason for this inclination is celebrity endorsements as the contemporary youths are highly impressionable and often viewed stalking their favourite public figures' lifestyle, so for instance, whatever is being promoted by these actors, people would buy those items without giving any second thought.

However, I believe that this trend has manifold untoward repercussions. The reason for this that people often end up spending far more than what they earn. This results in undesirable debt and other financial crises. An escalating number of credit card and loan defaulters, these days, is the consequence of this shift in the buying habits of people. Moreover, local markets are vanishing, as branded outfits and other accessories are only available with high-end supermarkets.

In conclusion, two of the main elements of this shift in the shopping pattern of people are community aspects and the influence of celebrity commercialization. I feel that this has negatively reshaped the spending habits of people.