Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants.Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

Food industry contributes 30% to the global economy. With the fast paced life, people prefer meal take-away’s or eating out, depending upon their schedule and usually end up wasting a part of their meal. In the below paragraphs we elaborate on this insensitive social behavior and the possible solutions to bring down the food wastage.

A recent study showed that, if the annual food wasted in the United States of America is to be quantified, it would suffice to feed one meal over a period of one year to the entire continent of Africa. This analysis is only the 'tip of the iceberg'. Also World Health Organisation (WHO), came up with a shocking statistics in 2017 revealing that the primary reason for juvenile death in the world, by 2050 would be hunger. Both the above statements are true and very contradicting, on one side we see people wasting food and on the other side people die because of hunger.

The primary reason for food wastage is, people acting blindfold to the real social issues of the world. Nobody wants to work for a social cause, for example: a student in the developed country is not thinking of the problems a socially and economically backward country has. Society is thinking in the lines of Darwin’s theory of ‘Survival of the fittest’.

Few measures to decrease the food wastage are, to educate the people on the real world issues like hunger, making children socially responsible, being empathetic towards one another. Large corporate to have control on mass production of food products, Government bodies penalizing the restaurant/fast food chains for food wastage.

Finally, food wastage is a real concern in most of the developed and developing countries, unless we the people of this society or the last link in the chain of consumer driven economy, don’t act responsibly, and take charge of the issue, no local bodies or multinational companies can do anything about it.