Nowadays plastic money replacements such as credit and debit cards are extremely popular, even more than banknotes and coins.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

Nowadays, there is a contentious issue regarding the usage of plastic money instead of conventional type of money of credit cards. It is asserted that they are even more popular than banknotes. This essay will discuss both pros and cons of this issue.

To begin with, this new phenomena has many benefits. The main advantage of this kind of money is related to its production process. Since the raw material is plastic, which is more flexible and less tough than conventional metals that use for coins, the production process would be easier and needs less heavy equipment for casting and machining to access the final shapes. In comparison with paper money, moreover, they result in less consumption of paper that means less tree cut down. Besides, the raw material that is different kind of plastic is much cheaper than metals such as copper or zinc alloys. Also, as metals are heavier, they are lighter and transformation would be easier.

On the other hand, the replacement of ordinary money with plastic ones would bring a new set of concerns. On the top of the list, there are negative consequences regarding environment. It is obvious that plastic decomposition will take hundreds of year and cause a great deal of damages such as soil pollution or degradation of habitant of animals. The disadvantages of plastic money will not restricted to this, other harmful effects include air pollution that accompanied with raw material production and, also the disposal method of all waste.

In conclusion, the usage of plastic money instead of conventional type of money have their own merits and drawbacks. Low weight, less price and less difficulty of production method are some of advantages, however, more pollution and more harm for environment are the disadvantages.