Nowadays, some people believe that it is wrong to keep animals in zoos, while others believe zoos are both entertaining and ecologically important. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Never before has the issue of keeping animals in zoo been at the centre of a debate than at the present. On the one hand, some people believe that zoos are not only important for entertainment but also for ecological education, and I agree. On the other hand, others disagree and claim that zoos are inappropriate.

One obvious reason why they think it is wrong to keep animals in the zoo is because this act causes discomfort to animals. When these creatures are taken away from their natural habitats, they are forced into adapting to a strange lifestyle, which is somewhat inconvenient. In the forest where they naturally live, for instance, animals hunt for preys and migrate to favourable locations, whereas in the zoo, they often stay idle and stagnant. However, ecologists are solving this issue by inventing artificial forests and feeding animals with mammals.

While I acknowledge this view, I believe keeping animals in zoo is beneficial in some ways. Firstly, it would further increase the knowledge of human about animals. In zoos, animal scientists appear to study more about the behavioral pattern, feeding habits amongst other ecological information of animals, resulting in a comprehensive understanding of their nature. That is why ecologists, in recent time, seem to have more accurate prediction of animal behaviour. Secondly, keeping animals in zoo is a source of entertainment to the public. From viewing animals to touching them and also listening to stories about their existence in the zoo, people find these activities exciting, leaving several individuals with loving memories. Perhaps, this is why psychologists often recommend visiting the zoo as a probable method of curing depression.

In conclusion, animals often feel imprisoned when they are kept in the zoo, but scientists understood this problem and took necessary measures to have it solved. Therefore, I support keeping animals in zoos since they will be entertaining the people and ecologically educating the researchers