some say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in world, subjects like science and technology are more important than History. Discuss both views and give your opinion

There is no unanimous opinion about which course is of greater significance in the present age despite having myriads of them. While some schools of thought believe no subject compares to history, others will not substitute science and technology for any other subject. The two sides will be considered in this essay and I will conclude.

Undoubtedly, History as a subject help students unearths relevant life concepts while also connecting them to their cultures and heritages. Moreover, lessons from past events are learnt from history and these usually come in handy when planning for the future. In the Yoruba culture, for example, marriages are made more original by incorporating tenets of their traditions. Furthermore, the role of Nelson Mandela during the apartheid period in South Africa will always be relevant in the annals of history. Therefore, the relevance of history in modern times by connecting the past to the future cannot be over-emphasized.

However, it is difficult to look beyond science and technology in the present fast-paced world. The world appears to be thriving based on innovations in the fields of science and technology. Where history relied on past events to stay in touch with reality, science and technology are deeply-rooted on facts backed by evidence. Besides, technology has made life more comfortable through developments like mobile phones, electronic gadgets and so on. The universe might have succumbed to the Covid-19 pandemic but for the unprecedented positive impact of science and technology. It, therefore, seems undebatable that science and technology are indispensable in the modern-day world.

To conclude, though history may be relevant as it helps connect the past to the future, its importance is dwarfed by that of science and technology because the latter has not only helped to keep man in existence through evidence-based strategies, it has also made life more worth living. 305 words