Some people believe that to give opportunities to the new generation, companies should encourage high level employees who are older than 55 to retire. Do you agree or disagree

Many youths are redundant due to lack of employment opportunities. Solving such problem has never been by encouraging experienced and aged employees to retire, it has always been by creating more jobs, as well as training many young adults.

It is undeniable that old workers who are above 55 years are occupying a reasonable amount of positions in the labour market. But the population of these workers is extremely low while that of unemployed youths is ridiculously high. This means that many youths will still be unemployed even when all old staff are retired. Therefore, I think the aged employees should not be motivated to retire.

Instead, these high-level workers should create more job opportunities by extending products and developing ideas in their organisations. Old consultants in universities, for instance, are inventing new courses. Doing that would create the need for more young employees who would run the operations of such inventions, thereby resulting in creating more jobs.

Even if the above method does not create opportunity for all youths, there may another way to create opportunities for more of them. To do this, young people would need to be equipped with technical and vocational skills when they graduate from school. With such knowledge, there could be more opportunities for them to work as engineers, designers and developers. Perhaps, that is why the government is establishing hardskills training centers, specifically targeting youths

In conclusion it appears that both young and old people can co-exist in labour market if more ideas that could create jobs are developed. For this reason, I disagree that high-level employees who are over 55 should be motivated to retire in order to create opportunities for new generation.