Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening.

These days there is a controversial debate about technological advancements being used for surveillance of personal data. Even more problematic part of it, many people are not aware that their data has been used for monitoring reasons. Although there are some advantages of data collection, the disadvantages of this development might drastically affect the society we live in.

First of all, technological developments are highly dependent on data that has been collected. Most of the applications are created through the responses gathered from the users. These accumulations of data improve the responsiveness of the technology, for instance, the navigation apps are taking pictures from satellites and streets to draw virtual maps, hence, we find our way without getting lost all around the world. Furthermore, the CCTV cameras played a significant role to reduce the crime rates in the installed areas, which fortifies public security.

Meanwhile, security cameras are installed almost everywhere in the cities and recording the behavior of the people who are living in that city. Over time, this information is being used to predict the similar patterns in peoples behavior and therefore people’s life becomes susceptible to other bodies that are controlling, advertising, marketing. Researches reveal that shopping centers analyze the behavior patterns of their customers to increase their sales. In addition, Monitoring of personal data has resulted in a lack of privacy as we know from the Jenifer Lawrence case. Her pictures with her boyfriend in the Cloud were exhibited on social media without her permission to blackmail her.

In conclusion, the benefits of technology enhance, however, privacy in using these advancements is essential in order to protect our freedoms and rights to choose. To implement this, raising awareness and action necessarily should be taken by experts.