Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

The increasing amount of waste and the waste management has become one of the pressing issues in the current era, throughout the world. This essay will discuss further on the reason for the rise in rubbish and which measures the governments could adopt to curtail the vast amount of trash produced in the following paragraphs with examples.

Firstly, the rising rate of consumerism is major reason for the high amount of wastage produced due to increasing incomes as well as higher amount of cash at disposal. Before a thing wears out or even on negligible usage, people are quick to throw it out citing the cause of it becoming old-fashioned or obsolete. This kind of wastage may be in the form of electronics, clothes, plastic or even food. Not realizing that many of these products could be reused, but some of the trash like plastic are non-recyclable wastes. Like for example America is currently dealing with issues of waste management due to the soaring rates of consumerism. This trash crisis is responsible for impairing public health, polluting the environment and threatening to drown some poor countries in toxicity.

The following measures would certainly help in tackling waste management issue. One way that the government can help alleviate this burden on the environment is by educating the public. By promoting the use of reusable bags when shopping, the number of plastic bags can be greatly reduced. Another step that the government may undertake is through sound recycling measures on a larger extent. For instance, look at Singapore, it is regarded as the cleanest city of Asia, because of strict laws of littering being enforced by the government. In addition, almost all of Singapore’s non-recyclable waste is burnt to form ash and this waste is further shipped to a man-made island nearby that doubles as a nature reserve. We can surely take Singapore as role model and construct a similar structure to dispose of its waste.

In conclusion, it is a fact that the human population, consumerism and industrialization will continue to rise. For the world’s natural resources remain sustainable, the governments around the world and the public must cooperate to arrest the ever-present problem of growing rubbish.