A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Society has always been status conscious. People of late who are rich are gaining popularity. It is thought by some people that old fashion values like esteem, generosity and loyalty are given less importance than the material things. I completely disagree with the notion that a person is judged by his wealth and shall further validate my claim through plausibe examples

It cannot be denied that rich people are respected more compared to others. But, in my opinion, people are adored due to their beneficial works towards a society not just because they have more money. In other words, a rich person is admired and respected due to his generosity, in contrast to a person who is rich and selfish is not considered as a respected member of society. For example, Azeem premji of WIPRO group of companies. He himself travels by economy Class and takes meals with his staff in their canteen as well as of late has donated more than fifty percent of his shares to philanthropic causes. Hence, he is held in high esteem by all citizens of the world due to his noble deeds and Such people are truly worthy of being idolized.

On the other hand, there are many people who may have made a fortune, yet when it comes to garnering true deference. They seem to struggle till date, to make a place in people’s heart. For instance, ,Vijay Mallaya the pioneer of kingfisher liquor tycoon and even the owner of kingfisher Airlines of India, who is still considered to be rich and powerful. Despite being so rich has never contributed to Social causes. And right now, he is the most hated person due to his hedonist lifestyle which has had a detrimental effect on the entire nation. Due to his lavishness he is currently owing the national banks up to 7000 crores of rupees. So he may have initially taken the world by a storm by his prodigal lifestyle, but of late simple the same person is being considered an anathema by millions

To sum up, I strongly believe that a rich person is not respected by any if he is not useful to the society irrespective of this financial status. Generosity, kindness is the key to be admired and gain respect in this world.