In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The matter in which allocating money on manifold infrastructure projects has recently sparked an intense debate. Notwithstanding contested by many people that the matter of building high-speed trains for commuting is highly beneficial, others feel that governments had better use their public fund to retrofit existing public transports. This essay will unravel both points of view before rendering a plausible conclusion.

From a social standpoint, building super-fast railways has several benefits, which helps to develop the economy. As a developing countries, logistics sector plays an important role of delivering goods to every destination around the country, which base significantly on train. Otherwise, air delivery might be fastest, yet it pales in comparison to trains in terms of price and volume. According to a survey, for instance, reported that 90% of domestic goods has been transported by train in the US for recent 5 years. In addition, travelling by train might be prevalent and prominent in crowded countries like China and India due to its affordable fees.

On the other hand, governments only focus on developing railway lines for high-speed trains, which has some drawbacks. Firstly, trains might be gain their best performance for long distance travel while have some inconveniences in the event of short distance where buses or metros hold their position. Secondly, retrofitting public transports will require less money than constructing a new railway system. Moreover, traditional public transport like buses can share available infrastructures with other vehicles, which helps to save money for other vital sector such as education and public health. Researchers from RMIT university, for illustration, claimed that US government saved approximately 9 billion dollars in improving project for existing public transport instead of investing in a new railway line to connect their two cities.

In conclusion, the aforesaid discussion illustrates how nuances that a government either put an investment in a fast railway system or improving their available public transports, which make it possible to propose a certain suggestion. To me, I believe that a government should, in long-term, deem their resources to choose the best plan for its country. Especially, air travel is well on its way to becoming a dominant player in following years with affordable prices.