One of the most important issues facing the world today is a shortage of food and some think genetically modified foods are a possible solution.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As the world population has risen above 7 billion, we are increasingly struggling to put food on the table. Organic food growth is slow and cannot catchup with the population sharp incline. So some people suggest that genetically engineered food can solve the food problems and I completely agree with this point of view.

We are already reaping the benefits of engineered food in our daily lives. Take broiler chicken for instance, which can take 45 days to become fully grown, is meeting the meat demand of billions of people around the globe. If we had only relayed on the organic chicken which normally takes 4 months to become mature, people would not have that much meat available in the world right now. Thus, modification in the genes of species enables us to accelerate the natural growth cycle and helped us to meet our daily food needs.

Furthermore, there are some revolutionary genetically modified foods products which are in pipeline that may completely eradicate the food shortage. In United Kingdom, scientists performed a successful experiment in which they cloned the meat cells with in the laboratory which means we can double the available meat through cloning. If this experiment has no side effects on the food and people health, this product production can be maximized at industrial level. This will not only solve our food needs, but also has a potential to provide green food with zero carbon foot prints on the environment.

To conclude, with the high growth in human population over the recent few decades, food is becoming a scarce resource. In order to tackle this pressing issue, I suggest we should go towards genetically engineered products. These products are not only being issued in our daily lives, but their demand will rise exponentially in the near future as they have potential to solve people food needs once for all.