Parents of obese children need to be punished for making them fat, do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, Obesity has become an alarming issue in children. Some believe that over-weight children's parents need to be punished as they are accountable for making them out of shape. This essay disagrees with this statement because parents do not have control over their children all the time and genetics can play an important role.

Firstly, Parents cannot have full control over the child full-time. Children can intake a large number of calories when at school where they do not require their permission and cannot be supervised by parents and this would pass on unknowingly from mother or father. Furthermore, children spent quite of their daily time at schools and usually canteens do not provide the healthiest food. therefore, it is agreeable to say that junk food consists of a large portion of kids' dietary intake. For instance, a recent study has shown children take around 75% of their daily required calories at schools in the form of unhealthy food.

Secondly, genetics could be an effective factor in children gaining weight. Youths' bodies with obese parents tend to follow the same genetic disposition of their elders, which means, the child has no control over the way his/her body metabolizes the diet. Even the smallest calory intake can affect some children more than those without the genetic-marker for obesity. Recent research concluded that almost every child born of obese parents has a high tendency to become one even with dietary control.

To conclude, over-weight children's parents should not be punished as there are factors, they do not have control over such as school time or genetics.