Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is suggested by some that curriculum like charity community service should be made mandatory in high schools. I completely agree with this statement because it would develop a sense of responsibility and a way to deal with challenges in school goers.

To begin with, community service programs would give the child a sense of responsibility. Such services make the children interact directly with people out of their comfort zone, therefore causing them to endeavor to complete his/her tasks successfully. This is turn develops a sense of fulfillment and accomplishment which can boost their self-esteem and character. For instance, a study in Germany shows the students who have completed a charity service during high school are more interested in becoming leaders and have a higher motivation to complete a variety of tasks.

furthermore, such programs can be challenging for students. This would encourage them to actively seek smarter ways to complete the tasks and be more efficient. Such jobs would allow them to express their ideas and work around them as they need to co-operate with other members of the community and consider their points of view. For example, a group of students in India had to develop a way for blind school children to learn to choreograph a dance performance for the new year celebration.

To conclude, I agree with making free community service mandatory in high-schools as it would bring a sense of responsibility and challenges to the student which is beneficial for their future.