More and more people want to buy famous brands of clothes, cars and other items. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, the favourite for well-known products is gradually growing. While there are some clear reasons for this trend, I believe that it is a negative development.

The reasons for the increasing consumer concern with brand names are simple to explain. First, the marketing departments of large corporations aim to identify their goods with a glamorous and successful lifestyle, and people are easily swayed by advertises. Companies often use celebrity endorsements to promote their products, with famous people like Cristiano Ronaldo or Victoria Beckham. Second, the possession of a high-priced car or a luxurious handbag advertises one’s wealth and taste. Therefore, the idea behind owning a brand name is to revoke the jealousy and temptation of others.

However, I would argue that this is a negative development. At an individual scale, consumers are encouraged by corporations to buy items that they barely afford because they believe that these products would improve their lives and make them happy. As a consequence, those customers squander their savings on brand-name products and become in debt. From a social perspective, such messages are very harmful, which might encourage crime to steal the latest cell phones from people in the street. The target audience is often young people, who companies seek to attract by promoting brand awareness of their products such as Nike or Samsung. These products now have been essential items to have in our modern global village.

In conclusion, there are some important reasons to explain why many people find brand-name products so attractive. Those reasons may be reasonable; however, I still believe that this kind of consumerism gives people a false consciousness about our real world.