In the past, many people had skills such as making their own clothes and doing repairs to things in the house. In many countries, nowadays, skills like these are disappearing.

Today in the modern world, many people do not intend to do some activities such as sewing or knitting to make clothes for themselves. In fact, it seems traditional skills are vanishing in many countries. I personally think the main reason for this event is due to the development of technology and it has certainly influenced many countries including my country.

In fact, nowadays, we are living in a modern world that many new techniques and instruments have been invented that there were no available in the past. As a matter of fact, with the creation of those instruments, many skills that individuals was made by hand is disappearing. To illustrate this vividly, today, there are some advanced machines that easily can make a huge number of woolen clothes in a flash that people can easily purchase in the market. However, in the past, there were no such that facilities and people had to use two needles to just make a woolen cloth that it took a long time. In addition, in many years ago, individuals usually used to perform different activities simultaneously. To explain this clearly, people who worked as a farmer and grow up different type of agricultural products, they also herd sheep and cows and produced dairy products such as butter and cheese. However, in the sophisticated world, the occupations have become specialized and each person chooses a career that he or she is keen on and talented. In this way, individuals don not waste time and they have more free time to do some entertainment activities.

Undoubtedly, like many countries, my country, Iran, has also changed and individuals prefer to concentrate on a certain occupation that they are interested in. In fact, many people who are engaged in offices, hospitals or they work in other organization, they are buried in work and they do not have a lot time to perform several skills altogether. However, there are some people, who are interested in some activities such as sewing or knitting thus; they assign them as an entertainment activity in their leisure time.

To conclude, I personally think with the progress of the technology, some skills especially making cloth by hand are vanishing. However, some people would like to perform them as an amusement.