In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Nowadays, with the aid of technology, more and more people are in favor of teleworking rather than being in the office. In this essay, I would like to discuss both benefits and drawbacks of this trend.

On the one hand, it is true that there are several positive impacts when it comes to remote working. In society’s perspective, remote working employers could save much of the time and the cost of commuting. In doing so, this working style would bring about many positive social and environmental changes, such as fewer traffic accidents and the reduction of vehicle emission. In individual’s perspective, working from home provides a balance between work and personal life in daily schedules for employed adults. They are more likely to be able to choose what to put into their hours which perfectly fits them. In this way, teleworkers would not be overwhelmed by their jobs and also spare them for family and interests.

On the other hand, alongside the upsides, working from home also has considerable downsides. The transition to telework sometimes comes along with a lack of adequate technology and equipment which consequently reduces workers’s productivity. Some of these facilities, namely printer and fax, are essential to certain jobs but only available in conventional offices which would affect the way the perform the jobs. Also, the restricted interaction with colleagues is another factor contributing to the decreased productivity. It is true that teleworkers have less motivation, as they have to manage their responsibility without any support and encouragement from their co-workers. For instance, working individually rather in a group might be hard to meet deadline and complete project on time.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that teleworking has certain plus points but it associates with many problems. Personally, I think this new working form has not reshaped the culture of work yet.