People's shopping habits depend more on the age group they belong to than any other factors.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Going shopping has become a trend with the advancement in time. Some people assert that age is the best marker to investigate about the purchasing habits of the people. Although age plays a vital role in making shopping decisions of many people, I still allege that there are certain other facets affecting such decisions.

To begin with, firstly, it is quite noticeable that a group of the same age shall tend to buy similar products that are considered appropriate to their mutual hobbies. For instance, the youngsters from the age group between six to twelve old would like to possess toys such as cars, dolls; while the teenagers are more inclined towards the technological gazettes for playing games. Therefore, most of the companies rely on this factor while launching a new product in the market and making a huge profit. Apart from this factor, they also exploit the other strands for a heavy sale of the product such as gender and media.

As per the sexes are concerned, the young male and young female tend to have different likes and preferences for the toys. The latter often like to play with dolls or cooking appliances rather than the former, plays with cars and the models of superheroes. Furthermore, the advertisements either through television, radio or leaflets play a crucial role in purchasing undesirable and useless items with their stunning pictures and graphics.

To conclude, classifying the customer on the bases of age for analyzing the shopping habit is an effective method. Nonetheless, there are a number of factors that can even impact the spending habits.