people sleep less than before in many countries why do people sleep less what effect does it have on an individual and on society

Mankind is spending less time to take a siesta and this pattern can be observed in majority of countries. There are many reasons for this, such as increased sources of entertainment. However, this practice is harmful for an individual's health and society. This essay will discuss reasons of shorter sleep and its effects on persons and society.

To begin with, advent of plethora of entertainment devices are keeping everyone engrossed. The entertainment devices such as televisions and over the top media, provide a lot of programs which are ranging from comedy to horror and two other web series. So, instead of spending time in sleeping to cut out boredom, they can watch these programs and entertain themselves. For example, if a person is feeling very, then a good comedy program on television can bring him out of malaise. Secondly, the recent trend of working for long hours in jobs, uses of the time when one could have slept sufficiently. indeed, when a person works in a call centre job, it is hard to find two doors for the designated hours.

As a result, such patterns of work and rest are detrimental to an individual and the collective. At an individual level, it causes long-term health issues, which do not surface initially, yet become symptomatic in the form of raised blood pressure and obesity. Additionally, when such people work together as a society, the overall efficiency of given task diminishes. It is a well-known fact that activity levels are low when body is not well rested. This is seen in a clear example, where an aeroplane met with an accident and later it was found out that pilot had to work for long houra and had not slept properly. Aftermath of this accident, the entire fleet of passengers succumbed to the injuries. Certainly, such accidents, which are a result of lack of sleep, are troublesome to society.

In conclusion, sleep is essential for normal functioning of people and society and its deficiency is harmful to us in several ways. I believe that although one cannot give away the sources that are leading to loss of sleep, at least one can take a deliberate effort to spend enough time towards sleep. it seems a well spent sleeping schedule will lead all to a happy life.