People spend too much money on family celebrations such as birthdays and weddings. What is the importance of these celebrations? Do you think people really spend too much?

Individuals invest a large amount of money on family occasions such as birthdays and marriage ceremonies. This essay will discuss that these events are crucial for reuniting with relatives and friends, and I believe that people are spending more than the financial budget that often lands them in huge financial debts.

Traditional events play an essential role in the lives of people because it enables them to socialize with their peers. Nowadays, people tend to live a busiest and ever occupied life because of the time limit and tight deadlines, these gatherings help them to spend leisure time with their loved ones. As a result, they would be able to interact with different members of the extended family, which is beneficial for their social development. For example, in India majority of the population organises grand parties to celebrate their special days because they feel that it is an excellent way to invite guests to their house.

Due to the availability of high disposable income, men and women spend an exorbitant amount of funds while planning luxurious events to reflect their wealthiness. In other words, celebrations are more considered as a way to showcase wealth to other people instead of showing love and affection. Consequently, it also influences guest negatively because it put pressurise low earing families to follow the same trend and this persuades them to take huge loans for these events. For instance, in many Asian countries, an average family tends to spend a massive amount on these functions and it cost them more than several million, which is beyond their savings.

In conclusion, although organising get-together to mark the occasion benefits masses to inculcate family skills, its negative impact on the whole society can not be undermined. I maintain that adults should only spend a sufficient amount that lies between their financial capabilities because showing off leads them to suffer myriad fund crises.