People who read for pleasure have better imagination and language skills than those who prefer watching TV. To what extent do you agree?

Reading is an indispensable part of civilized society. It’s been long debated that people who prefers to read has higher imaginative and language skills than those who only follow television. I believe, reading habit has more benefits in long run.

To begin with, I agree reading aids a person with enhanced mental skills. A book reader has to imaging each and every detail portraited by the writer and remember all of those minute details right till its end to better understand the content. Also, language plays a vital role failing which we will not be able to understand granular details of the scene, which is very crucial especially in climax. A study by Oxford University suggested that people who continue their reading habit in old age are less prone to mental illness like Dementia, Alzheimer, etc, because their brain is fully active and engross while reading, which eventually slows the degradation of neural cells.

On the other hand, most of our populous are inclined towards TV wherein no mentally exhausting activity is required. An individual must sit in front of the idiot box and enjoy the experience. All the scenes become alive on the screen like a cooked meal in which no effort is required to understand the content and it can be viewed wherever we are comfortable. For instance, it’s been observed that people who are always engrossed with television are not only mentally unfit but are physically unfit, too, being a couch potato.

To conclude, individuals who are into reading have alert mind because they have to convert words into picture, thereby their neurons are always firing, and they have good command over language. While, TV watchers must watch it, which is completely passive activity which requires least mental alertness. To my mind, readers have higher imaginative and a strong language skills. These skills are blessing in disguise in their old age.