With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not.what are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

The gradual disappearance of paper books with the coming e-books is accepted by few people. This essay will suggest that the reduction in pollutants from paper-industries is one of the biggest advantages while the vision-related problems are the principal disadvantage of digital readers.

Paper mills are the sources of both water and air pollution. With the appearance of technology-based books, there is a decrease in paper-making factories, the wastes emitting from such industries are reduced in the atmosphere resulting in less greenhouse gas effluents in the environment. For paper recycling as well, tons of toxic gases are released in the surroundings. So, e-books are Eco-friendly in nature. To illustrate this with an example, the survey conducted by The Auckland University, Australia, 40% of students wanted to continue their studies using e-books rather than printable materials and are encouraging other students as well to opt for e-books paving a way for a safe environment.

Despite these disadvantages, as the e-books are pocket-friendly and portable to read and learn, exposure to the blue light rays emitted from the screens of mobile phones and laptops is creating the eye-sight issues for humankind. Continuous staring at the digital screens for hours and hours is resulting in blurred vision, computer eye syndrome, eye irritation, Myopia(shortsightedness), strain full eyes and the list goes on especially among the youths. To quote some statistics from recently published research conducted by Ophthalmologists of famous Sime Derby Hospital, Malaysia reveals that Myopia affects 85% to 90% of University students studying through e-books in some Asian countries such as Singapore and Taiwan. In comparison, only 10% to 15% population of graduates were short-sighted who were using printable books and newspapers.

To conclude, usage of electronic readers can be advantageous if the individuals are not hooked on to the electronic digital screens preventing their eye-damage thereby, they should be minimized the use of paper books to prevent pollution producing from industries.