Some companies have uniforms for their staff which must be worn at all times.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your own opinion.

Some organizations have made compulsory for their employees to wear the prescribed set of clothing when at work. Despite the disadvantage that the employee may feel boring and uncomfortable to put on the same uniform daily, I believe that wearing a uniform depicts unity in the workplace.

The main disadvantage of wearing the same clothes to be worn by the staff is that they feel uninterested to see themselves in the same boots, caps or clothes daily whether it suits them or not. This is to say that irrespective of the weather conditions, they might feel quite uneasy what they are wearing and even on special occasions such as birthdays or anniversary or festivals they have to put on the same code of dress. The NewYork Times, for example, recently asked a number of factory workers of a small-scale industry if they loved the code of dress designed for them, 65% of them urged that they are uninterested to wear the same uniform at all the time. Despite this demerit of wearing a uniform, I believe that it has the advantage of showing unity.

The primary advantage of uniforms to be worn daily is that it symbolizes unity among the firm members. This means irrespective of gender or age, this shows that all the workers are equal for a given company, in terms of rules and regulations. Moreover, this portrays that no employee is superior to the other so they all should work together as a team. For instance, the staff of one of the world-famous IT Firms, Wipro has the rule to wear formal trousers and blue-lined bottle-necked shirts whether men or women so as to instill the importance of teamwork. Due to these reasons, wearing uniforms at all times for all the workers plays a positive role in increasing the productivity of an organization as they all feel united.

In conclusion, members of some of the organizations are asked to wear the same set of a dress on a daily basis. While the disadvantage is that it makes the employees feel unpleasant to put on the uniform, I believe that it inculcates the thought of oneness among the minds of workers irrespective of age and sex.