Some people believe that capital punishment should never be used. others, however, argue that it should be allowed for the most serious crimes.

Although some individuals are of the thought that the death penalty should never be imposed, other people think that it should be legalised on the most grievous criminals. While sentencing most serious offenders to capital punishment is an easy and quick solution, I believe that all human beings have a right to live and so should never be allowed however major the crime is.

On the one hand, punishment as death sentences for serious crimes provides a short-term solution. By announcing these kinds of punishment, the government officials can take them off streets and deter happening of crimes including smuggling, premeditated murders, patricide, human trafficking, and smuggling. Thus resulting in a decline of serial criminals and repeated offenders in society. In Singapore, for example, when capital punishment was imposed on smugglers and drug traffickers there was a tenfold decrease in such offenses. However, I believe that these sentences are unjust because we are infringing on someone’s right to live.

On the other hand, capital punishment should not be sentenced irrespective of the severity of the crime for it is inhumane to do so. To live is a birthright of every human being and executing or hanging a criminal is being cruel with him. If they are criminals, the law-givers cannot do the same and eventually become a criminal in the name of justice. For example, a questionnaire conducted by one of the press reporters of South India revealed that 60% of people replied, ”criminals should never be hanged till death, how can the court be so harsh!”. I believe that no one including the jury has the right to be so cruel that criminals are executed.

In conclusion, some would say that for very serious criminals, the sentence of death is just for it is a practical solution. I believe this kind of punishment is against humanity and should never be used whether the crime is major or minor.