For school children, their teachers have more influence on their intelligence

and social development than their parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether teachers or parents decide the smartness and social behaviors of children is still debatable among people. While I agree with the important roles of teachers, I believe that the impacts of parents on children are more dramatic.

On the one hand, teachers play a crucial role for the cognitive development of young students. When children go to school, they participate in literature classes where they get familiar with complex grammar structures and a significant deal of vocabulary. As a result, their linguistic intelligence is enlightened; they have a chance to sharpen their words and learn how to express their opinions clearly and logically. Also in those literature classes, teachers help young students to get to understand characters and their emotions through poems and stories. Thanks for that, students will be nurtured with kindness, which makes them become benevolent and empathetic to the miserable.

On the other hand, I believe that parents are more influential to children and parent’s roles cannot be replaced by anything when it comes to nurturing children. First, if parents are conscious of the importance of education and encourage their children to read, those kids are more likely becoming smarter and eager to learn. In fact, many students whose parents are highly educated often succeed in life; they rarely drop schools and always study hard to be on top of classes. Second, family is the nuclear of society where children learn manners and social norms from the early stages. Without love and caring from parents, children may become stubborn, recklessness and anti-social. Therefore, parents need to take care of them well when they are still little.

In conclusion, although the importance of teachers are inevitable in terms of young students’ intellectual and social development, I strongly believe that family have a greater impacts on raising children to be smart and helpful to society.