Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While many advocates that traffic incidents could be suppressed by tough punishments, others believe there are other solutions to tackle the problem. In my opinion, strict laws are not truly effective to prevent mounting careless drivers, instead, upgrading public transports should be done to ensure the safety on the streets.

On the one hand, although various traffic laws were adopted to prevent accidents, annual casualties are still on the rise. This was because the traffic prohibitions are too many for drivers to fully memorize. This fact proves more and tougher punishments unsuccessfully to decrease the number of traffic accidents. In addition to that, there are sometimes a few law cracks that irresponsible drivers can take advantage to avoid the punishment. For example, if the amount of alcohol in the body is too little to be detected by the police, people may ignore the rules and drinking alcohol while driving. As a result, laws and punishments lost their effectiveness in protecting people on roads.

On the other hand, improving public transport would be more helpful to resolve the problem. If bus numbers are enhanced, commuters are no longer to wait too long to take buses. As a result, they will opt to use public transportation because of its convenience, leading to a drastically downward trend in private vehicles on roads. Fewer private cars or bicycles will be followed by fewer traffic incidents. Thanks for that, we can easily achieve the goals of upgrading road safety without causing escalating frustration to citizens as traffic laws may cause.

In conclusion, reinforcing public transportation quality to encourage people to use would be the most efficient approach for limiting casualties by traffic through significantly decreasing the number of private vehicles in use.