Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults.Why is this?Is it positive/negative development?Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?------------------------------------------------

Nowadays, many individuals, above eighteen, consider shopping as the best way to spend their spare time. I partially agree with the statement and will prove my idea in this essay, moreover, I will also examine the reason of such trend.

To commence with, in modern young society shopping is equal to happiness. In more details, a few years ago a scholar, from French Commercial University, has published a psychological study, in local science magazine, about pros of shopping for the young generation. He claimed that when people buy something new and desired, their body produce a fluid in the blood, which creates a certain mental condition so called "the state of happiness". Furthermore, this fluid reduces the stress, which people accumulate during the day. In this respect, young adults see shopping as a good way to relax and even start to be addicted to those feelings it gives them.

From this perspective, such development can be as beneficial as detrimental. On the one hand, shopping is the safest and most innocent way of having fun in modern young society. Namely, it is not inferior to the feelings after alcohol consumption or smoking, so it might be considered as a perfect and healthy alternative. On the other hand, frequent visits to shopping centres and markets can have a negative impact on economic state of the person. As an evidence, a recent social research, conducted by Texas Science University in 2018, ascertained that shopping makes people addicted the same as alcohol or cigarettes. Sometimes it can even lead a person to debts, as he starts to spend more money than he receives. Generally, shopping could be beneficial in certain limits.

Considering everything, it has become obvious that the main reason of popularity of shopping, among young working generation, is that it makes them feel happy and reduces the daily stress. However, if to do it irresponsibly, it can cause big problems connected with finance.