Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. Why is this? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In today’s world, shopping has become a well-known habit among youngsters in majority of countries. This has risen many questions on its reasons and impacts. Globalization has played a prime role in this recent hike in shopping habits. In my opinion, this shopping binge is not good for individuals and society.

Firstly, the advent of shopping malls and globalization have changed the people’s shopping methods. Individuals get attracted towards the luminous shops and decorated halls while shopping which motivates them to go to these places very often. Additionally, clothing trend is changing very rapidly nowadays, and, therefore, young people want to purchase new garments very frequently. For example, if a new type of shirt is introduced in market, many gents want to buy it as a hobby. Availability of products and widespread of shops made shopping as an important time passing activity.

On the other hand, excessive shopping is definitely a negative development. Although people treat shopping as a good hobby, it has all the possible aspects of becoming an addiction. It will drive people to depression when they have do not enough money to go for their shopping routine. Moreover, enormous shopping could encourage production of cheap products which lack at originality and quality. To illustrate, consumers buying everything which manufacturers produce will imply that people are not interested in products’ authenticity anymore. Consequently, a myriad of cheap goods will be forged and sold to customers.

In conclusion, it is evident that shopping has reached its peak level as a free time hobby. The factors, such as youngsters with financial freedom and the conversion of the world as a single market, contributed to this movement. If it is not regularised, this will not be a positive improvement.