Should governments spend so much money on space exploration when there are problems on Earth that need to be solved?

With proliferation in technology, humans has reached on Mars and aiming for beyond our galaxy. In the rush of knowing what is beyond our earth in the universe each and every nation spending so much money on space exploration. I believe instead of spending hard earned money of taxpayers in space exploration government should deal with problems lies right in front of them on earth.

One such serious problem is effects of globalization and urbanization on the climate of earth. To provide more space for cultivation and for building more residents for humans deforestation is happening at alarming rate. This leads to droughts, global warming, floods and many more natural calamities in numerous areas . These need immediate government action. Furthermore, there are many rural and under developed towns in the country where proper sanitation facilities are not there and also health care is not adequate in those areas , spending money to resolve these issue will help many lives. Moreover, there are so many unemployed people all over the country and creating jobs and employment options for these people will require funding from the government.

On the other hand, many advocates in favor of space exploration and believe government should encourage such endeavors. Firstly they believe space projects reveals many things about earth as well. for instance, satellites provides data regarding weather forecast, ocean currents, etc. Additionally, it also helps in finding and investigating the unknown outer space threats, for example meteor falling on earth. Finally, Space exploration helps in solving the biggest mystery for humankind, that is, are we alone in this universe ? But I believe this all should take a backseat when some human on earth are not living a comfortable, healthy life and sometimes even lack basic necessities.

In Conclusion, I opine that space exploration do have some benefits but spending money on such exploration while we have problems I mentioned above is not a wise choice and government should refrain themselves from spending money in outer space activities.