In many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society?

In many nations, there is a shortage of student opting for science majors in colleges. This essay will discuss two causes of the problem and its impacts on society.

There are some reasons why many students in universities prefer choosing other subjects, such as linguistic or art, rather than learning science. First, since scientific subjects are usually challenging with various logical matters, students might have to spend all day to brainstorm and solve those problems. As a result, they may want to pursue other subjects which require less time. Second, monotonous lectures at school are another reason why science has been becoming unappealing for students to participate. For example, a few university schools concentrate on teaching formula and principles throughout lessons without showing how to apply those theories in life, which makes science abstract, tedious and impractical.

However, there will be serious effects on society if more students avoid choosing to study science subjects. In terms of the environment, one result will be a lack of trained professionals to find solutions to urgent problems and help society to achieve sustainable development. For example, more scientist will be necessary to lead the fight against global climate change and to conduct research into alternative energy sources for the reduction of the greenhouse gas emission. From the perspective of health, another outcome could be a lack of medical experts to search for a cure for life-threatening conditions such as HIVs or cancers, which severely affects the human lifespan and the life quality.

In conclusion, there are several reasons why fewer students choose science subjects. If we do not take some actions to tackle this tendency, it will cause a lack of labour force for society and slow down the development progress of scientific areas.