Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks.

Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

As the technologies in the world advances over time, people seek for convenient ways to interact and present each other. Undoubtedly, the social networking media has arisen as one of major replacements for direct communication over a few recent decades. Although sharing personal information on social media platforms may expose unwanted personal information to the public, the advantages of the social networking definitely outweigh the drawbacks. Moreover, the developers are fully aware of the cons of using the social networking platforms that users can modify privacy features.

First of all, there are no other methods that replace the convenience of the social media out there. The features of social media is simply too powerful that people consider it a must-have nowadays. It allows users to interact and share with their friends and families live on the other side of the earth. It also allows users to present themselves to the rest of the world that possibly gives opportunities in their career.

As mentioned above, the risks of social networking are considered to be one of the tasks to be solved by creators when they first developed. Fortunately, almost all the social media platforms that are available to us offer customizable privacy features to simply protect our personal information. For instance, the Facebook and the Instagram are considered to be the most popular social media today. They both offer feature to switch users’ account completely incognito. That being said, the private option enabled accounts cannot be viewed and reached by any public. Furthermore, there are options to block specific users to add an extra layer of protection.

In short, despite the fact that social networking might expose users’ personal information in risk, people still use social media. It simply outweighs the drawbacks. As long as users are completely aware of risks and how to cope with it, it is powerful tool that is given to us for sure.