Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks.

Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been an animated discussion about whether or not a steady rise in social media usage brings more drawbacks than merits. I agree with both side of the argument. This essay will elaborate on both positive and negative effects of this trend.

On the positive side, firstly, people can share their issues with the entire nation in order to get help. Whether it is helping in terms of money or when it comes to advice, they can get it fast from numerous social media users. A further advantage of the social media is that you can get the facts and true information by doing some research on social media as nearly all forms of media and the press such as television, newspapers, internet articles and so on are still affected by government control.

On the negative side, the popularity of social media also represents some notable drawbacks. To begin with, personal data and privacy can easily be hacked and shared on the internet. Which can make financial losses and loss to personal life. What is also shortcoming is cyberbullying. Being the victim of a cyberbullying can take a tremendous toll on a person emotionally and psychologically. It can render a person helpless and feeling violated.

In conclusion, using social media can be a smart decision. However, there are disadvantages that should be weighed carefully against the advantages.