Some believe that government should take care of retirees while others think everyone should save for their own retirement.

Retirement is that part of life where a person might not have a steady income. Every person faces this stage in life and it would be wise to plan for it. Though there are controversies, with respect to governments role in

retirement, I have outlined a few points to put forth my point.

Firstly government pension plns would certainly maintain peoples standard of living above the countries poverty line. "Retirement Funds" is an oppertunity in disguise for the government to invest such that the profits can

be devided between the retiree and the government. Such process could also accelerate the groeth of economy. For instance, When money is set aside for pension with the

government there is a sence of relief for the individual that his/her money is safe.

Secondly, uncertainity of future has encoraged people to set side money in forms of investment and liquid cash, reasonbeing the needs of people will very . Statistics states that human needs have grown many folds over

time and would be unwise to depend only on governemnt pension. Untill such time government has customised pension based on the requirement of the individual, there exists a need to save for retirement. For example, Canadian

government despite providing financial aid for its residents, have made medical services free upto 80%, thereby improving the life expectency and the standard of living of their people.

To sum-up government should take care of its people through pension, However in order to have a better standard of living people should also plan for it according to their requirements, as the expectation of people differs to a

great extent when it comes to country like India.