Some people think its better to live with a roommate. Other people prefer to
live alone. Which do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to
support your answer.
Most of us live in hostels where we can either share the room or live alone. In my opinion I think its
better to share the room with a roommate. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the
following essay.
Firstly, when we are away from our family, we are likely to fall homesick and if we share our rooms
with a roommate, we have a person to share our emotions and feelings. Also, roommates will be
able to guide us and help us through the college days. Living alone can often put us in depression
and thoughts of loneliness, whereas when you have the right roommate you will always have a
person to exchange your thoughts. For example, if your bad a particular subject and that being the
very same subject your roommate is good at, you can always learn together.
Secondly, the bond you will be sharing will be just beautiful. You will definitely get a best friend who
will look after you at all times. The memories made with a roommate will be really memorable and
looking back after years we wont regret it. They will take care of you when you fall sick. For example,
I was doing part-time job while I was studying and once, I fell ill and that’s when I realized how lucky
I was to have an amazing roommate who not only took notes for me in class but, also, she covered
my shift at work so that I will won’t have a loss of pay. I am still grateful to her for that kind act of
hers.
In conclusion, I would like to end by saying that its always better to live with a roommate rather
than living alone. This is because you will have a special bond and a person to support you at the
times of need which wouldn’t be possible if we live alone.