Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?
A teacher’s ability to relate well with students is more important than excellent knowledge of the
subject being taught.
Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.
I would like to disagree with the statement “A teacher’s ability to relate well with students is more
important than excellent knowledge of the subject being taught”. A teacher could not relate with
students without strong idea of the subject. Teachers are impressed by students due to their
capability of handling the subject.
Merely a teacher with ability to communicate with students could not be useful to the student for
their improvement in subject. Students need explanations and deep knowledge in the subject that
would be provided by a knowledgeable teacher only.
A teacher with good relationship with students but with limited information in subject may be good
in initial days of their class up to the introduction to a class, but once the students come to know the
teacher is lacking subject familiarity even the respect and importance of that teacher will be
reducing. Teacher can get significant importance only due to their extra ordinary knowledge and
capability of explaining concepts. Today students are in need of guidance and provoking, a
knowledgeable teacher can only ignite their mind and useful for students future.
There will be different level of students present in a class. Each student is unique in their
understanding level of the subject and its concept. A brilliant teacher can improvise all the students
according to their level of intellectuality.
A well pleasing teacher without excellent knowledge is not even useful to the organisation and the
society. A teacher mingling with students can not satisfy them without in-depth acquaintance. A
teacher with subject facts and advancement can give brilliant students to the society. Today the
society is in extreme need of technology, that cannot be offered and handled by a teacher with
pleasing character alone, but that can only be offered by an intellectual teacher who can be always
informative to the students. A teacher should have an understanding ability to acquire new concept
and upcoming technology to take the students to next level. How a teacher with soft manners and
kind relationship only can drag the students to next level of understanding in subject? Hence I would
disagree for the statement “A teacher’s ability to relate well with students is more important than
excellent knowledge of the subject being taught.”