Some believe that people who do physical work should be paid on par with the people who have high level degree. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people assume that unskilled labours should have the same level of income as those who has a college degree. I totally disagree with the notion because a diploma demands from a person years of education as well as investing money, time and mental efforts to complete it.

First, highly paid jobs as surgeons or entrepreneurs should be paid accordingly because these professionals carry huge responsibility and their mistakes can cost lives or multimillion businesses. Due to these reasons, they have to spend years of studying and practicing, while manual jobs do not need this kind of effort. Thus, it would be ridiculous to pay equal salaries to those who is putting a lot of efforts and resources in order to be able to perform their jobs and those who is not.

In addition, if physical workers would be paid on equal footing with qualified professionals, the latter would lose their motivation to pursue their positions. As a result, the economy would be in urgent demand of professionals. Moreover, higher education is expensive and many graduates have student loans, which have to be paid off. Consequently, their earnings should take into account their expenses. For instance, I have spent 6 years for my degree and I would be discouraged and frustrated if it did not bring any compensation.

In conclusion, the idea of equal pay for physical labour and highly educated workers is not possible. In my opinion, skilled jobs should be rewarded higher compared with unqualified jobs, because they demand time, money and a lot of effort to be ready for them.