In some countries, come criminal trials in law courts are shown on television so that the general public can watch them. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Whether TV channels should broadcast the trials of criminals or not has become a popular topic in some countries. In my own perspective, both advantage and disadvantage exist for such type of program.

On one hand, some people may consider it as a TV program with negative influence on the others, especially children. During a criminal trial, there is usually a process when the lawyers describe the details of the crime committed which is mostly a terrible behavior such as murder and rape. People watching TV at that moment would feel unpleasant about it and children may remember these behaviors as they are not able to distinguish right or wrong.

In addition, it is also a painful moment for victims and their families and friends to watch the trial, because whatever hurt or damage they suffered are no longer able to be reversed.

On the other hand, broadcasting the live criminal trial on TV could be an effective way for the public to monitor the process of jurisdiction. Since the whole procedure is presented in front of people, bias and unfair sentence is unlikely to occur, which is beneficial to reduce bribe or corruption in some level. Additionally, it is a valuable course for students who major in law and people who are interested in laws in which they can learn the complete process of a criminal trial and different types of crimes. Moreover, the live trial can also play a significant role in lecturing people the consequence of committing crimes, so that more people would be afraid of the punishment and then the potential rate of crime might lower.

To conclude, it is a double-edge sword to broadcast the live trial of crime on TV. Some types of crimes which are relatively not severe can be shown to the public, such as stealth and robbery, and it can warn some people not to attempt even if it is not horrible. Meanwhile, trials of much more severe crimes, such as murder, may not be appropriate to presented on TV as not every audience can accept it.