In some countries, criminal In some countries, criminal trials are shown to the public on television. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?trials are shown to the public on television. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Can archiving the trials of the brutal acts by the criminal’s through media brutalize their victims? As a matter of fact, more often than not it is observed by many a man that by broadcasting the criminal trials to the public will ensure the prevailing of justice for the victims. To my mind, it is doing more harm than good to the victims would affect them psychologically as the inhumane act done to be seen all around the world which would encourage both favorable and unfavorable outcomes for them.

Arguably, sealing the court records of criminal trials have not become popular in the recent times for no reason. Since the visual media would disclose the identity of the witnesses as well as the jurors, it would become impossible for the law enforcers to protect them from being poached. Moreover, owing to the statements given by the victim in the court, they are constantly judged by the viewers at each and every aspect making it difficult for them to survive in a normal world. A painstaking research has had been undertaken by the Harvard University, which revealed that 68% of the victims encountered further criminal acts after they deposed themselves in the court.

Notwithstanding the darker side, the trend certainly has some promising consequences, in-camera proceeding not only allow the transparency of the judicial system but also, eliminates the errors in the judgment which could easily be viewed and verified by the judges as an when the accused protest against his conviction into the higher court. Although it is not entirely untrue, but the impact is not that severe in the eyes of law. For instance, no sooner did a survey performed by BBC news channel, than it was unfolded that only 5% cases were overturned when the criminals preferred an appeal in the higher court due to lack of evidence which were not considered in the original court of law.

To conclude, it can be asserted that media trials are an important aspect of the contemporary era. However, the sanctity of the victim must be kept at all times when justice is being delivered, which would eventually lead to a socially stable and morally prosperous society; lest good outcomes should be far out of reach.