Some people say that protecting the environment is the government’s responsibility. Others believe that every individual should be responsible for it. Discuss both views and give own opinion.
Does the responsibility of environment protection belong to the
government and the political leaders alone? Apparently, while many a
man argues that the government has been chosen by the people to take
effective decisions towards the environmental conservation, another
school of thoughts believe that for the environmental indemnity and its
sustainable development, it is the accumulative duty of the human
society at large to initiate protective steps.
Arguably, the global leaders of the big nations have not taken the
initiative to safeguard the ecosystem for no reason. Apart from signing
the international treaties regarding the safety of the biodiversity, the
majority of the countries have added laws, codes and acts in their
constitution to ensure the protection of the natural habitats in their
nation. For example, the government of India implemented the E-waste
Management Rules 2016, under these rules, incentives would be
provided to promote the recycling of e-waste and ensure 100% collection.
The recycling centres will be registered to ensure safe practices of
recycling and disposal.
Notwithstanding this, opponents opine that it is the collective
responsibility of the community at large to recognize their personal
duty to contribute to the preservation of the environment. Since it’s
impossible for the government to be present simultaneously at every
problematic area, therefore, it is the duty of the general public to take the
initiate within their potential to safeguard the natural environment.
Many times, certain citizens have made efforts, which have presented
greater results regarding the preservation of natural habitats and
resources. For instances, the Chipko Movement was an initiative taken
by the women of the villages in Uttarakhand, where to decrease the
deforestation, its adverse environmental effects, and also protecting
the natural resources like coal, the villagers were encouraged to hug
the trees tightly. This hindered the industrial corporations to cut down
the trees. Moreover, the forest got preserved with the intervention of
the government after the display of the strong public agitation against
clearing out the forests for industrial set up in that area.
According to my opinion, it is the ideal efforts by both the citizens and
the government that would sustain the health of the ecosystem. While
the government cannot monitor accurately each and every region and
problems, especially in a big nation like India, it is the moral duty of
the public to make the government aware of the alarming
environmental issues and the urgency to take appropriate steps to curb
and cure it. On the other hand, efforts by the public would go in vain if the
government does not take strict actions against environmental
degradation and owing to this, it is the responsibility of the elected
leaders to implement strong laws for preserving the ecological sphere
and to punish the offenders, which would set an example for the
society. For instance, the Government of India launched the program
called Green Skill Development Program; the main aim of this initiative
was to develop the skills within the youth which would be beneficial for
the preservation of the environment for the sustainable future under the
forest sector. No sooner did this program get launch, than the 2.25
people got employed and the efforts for the restoration of flora and
fauna increased incredibly because the manpower in the forest sector
got higher.