In some countries, employees are generally given two weeks of paid vacations time each year. In other countries, employees are given four to six weeks of paid vacation time.

Consider the needs of both employee and employer, what do you think is the reasonable amount of paid vacation time for employees to have? Give reasons for your answer and include may relevant examples from your knowledge of experience.

In today's world, competition between corporates is increasing. Ignorance of anything, bring the company to the path of losses. If companies have to make profits then the availability of skilled works is necessary. If holidays for about six weeks have been sanctioned then it becomes very difficult to provide the deliverables in allotted time period. However, big multinational companies can still digest long vacations of employees as they always having a backup of each employee in a team.

But the major issue is employee satisfaction. From the profit perspective, if a company is giving paid leaves then the issue of cost cutting will hinder growth. So paid leaves of almost 2 weeks is enough. However, an employer will never understand the concerns. I would like to share an example, a friend of mine needs to commute to his hometowns for marriage. In marriage ample amount of expenditures has to be done. But employer neither given any kind of paid leaves nor allowed leave of more than a week.

Another example, I took a leave of 3 months as I was not well. The employer did not approve any reimbursement and even put my case on the loss of pay. When I came back, in my first salary, they deducted welfare trust amount of 3 months. If they are not giving me basic salary then it is not appropriate to deduct an amount of 3 months on the sake of welfare.

In compendium, I always suggest keeping a bigger team which avoid dependency. And, in genuine cases, it would be better to permit at least 2 weeks of paid leaves which make employees satisfied with the company and help the employer to deliver in stipulated time period.