In some countries, governments are making some criminals do voluntary community work rather than being put in prison.

To what extent do you agree with this?

Depending on the nature of offense committed, governments are reviewing positions which could make offenders carry out tasks of helping their community instead of being locked up behind bars. Personally, I strongly agree that not all misdemeanors deserve sentences that could negatively affects the course of ones’ life.

Firstly, prison isn’t the best reformer especially in societies where different levels of offenders are supposedly rehabilitated together. Having a to put together a juvenile delinquent street side drug dealer and a serial killer in the same cell will not only influence the lesser evil but strong relationships could be formed that can degenerate into an actual life of crime. In a 2001 study carried out by the office of the public defender, Lagos state, it was concluded that 85% of persons classified as small-time offenders are likely to return to jail for more serious offenses. In view of that, what does it profit a government to mete out similar penalties to every offender and increase the crime rate in their country?

Big-time offenders depending on the nature of their crime are still made to carry out community service which most times are known to bring out the humanity in anyone. Community service should be structured to give the feeling of actual penance and that way, criminals will feel a sense of purge on completion. Imagine having to work as an attendant in an out patients department of a community hospital 30 hours a week or serving meals in a homeless shelter. These forced acts of kindness have its way of communicating the position of right and wrong to criminals of which prisons lack the capacity.

In summary, people are pushed to the life of crime for different reasons and not all of them will end up a liability to the system. Rehabilitation programmes are just enough sometimes to put them back on track.