Modern technology, such as personal computers and the internet, have made it possible for many people to do their work from home at least part of the time instead of going to an office every day. What are some advantages and disadvantages of this situation.

With recent technological advancements, a work trend has evolved which is the option of not having to visit the office on a daily basis but working from the confines of your immediate environment. Irrespective of how convenient this may seem, there are high points and also low points for employers and employees which will be which will be discussed below.

Having to be a fully functional employee an organization is not only for the sole purpose of getting work done and fleeing home. There is person to person interactions, support systems built over time which is almost lacking with the work from home option. Furthermore, there is a level of complacency and questionable professionalism that can be noticed which has led to the immediate supervisors having more work on their hands. Also, despite the lower cost for the organizations, the cost is indirectly passed on to the staff. These costs could include; internet subscription, stationary, and in some cases maintenance of the computers used. Following the worldwide outbreak of the novel corona virus, a lot of people had to work from home and attended online meetings without muting their mics, wearing sweat shirts, and sometimes were seen to be absent or late. These challenges of working from home sometimes make one question its usefulness.

However, there are some merits of working from home which could range from reduced cost of operation for organisations and also these organisations no longer have to figure out the roles or each employee because tasks are better defined, organisations do not have to pay exorbitant rents to have a space hereby encouraging virtual offices. Evaluation of performance of staff in this context is easier because work is done online which has made it easy to track performance. Furthermore, countries are benefiting from this trend because there is less rush to work which in turn reduces noise pollution and heavy traffic seen during the rush hours. The employees’ benefits cannot be overstated. It includes less stress commuting to work and the ease of having to work at their pace.

In summary, the merits and demerits of working at home has overtime proven to favour both employers and employee. Personally, I think there should be regulations to put workers in check and organisations should endeavor not to pass the burden of running an actual office to their staff.