In some countries, most people prefer to rent a house rather than buying one. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of renting.

Lately, many people in both developed and developing countries are opting to rent a house instead of owning one, for various reasons. Some experts believe that this new trend is beneficial while some believe otherwise. This essay will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of renting a house over buying.

On the one hand, there is ample evidence that states renting house in today’s scenario is beneficial. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly, working professionals are always looking for lucrative opportunities in their work stream, and are very eager to migrate cities or countries to achieve their professional goals. In such cases, owing an apartment makes the transition difficult and professionals are unable to relocate due to fixed commitments. Secondly, the property taxes, also known as Millage rate, imposed while buying a house have grown exponentially over the last couple of years, making it an expensive affair especially for the middle class families. The rise in taxes puts enormous pressure on the annual income of the middle class families, thus depleting their savings which is kept for their family’s future. For example, a recent empirical research by Economic Times showed that property taxes in India, has grown from 6% to 18% over the last couple of years, making the property prices soaring sky-high. Due to this increase, many middle class families prefer to rent a house, as it is more economical for them and doesn’t hamper their monthly budget and savings. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that renting a house is considered to be practical and cost-effective compared to buying a house.

On the other hand, although renting is considered a smart option in today’s time, but there are few disadvantages that cannot be overlooked. Today, families are said to be disintegrated compared to yester years. This is because they do not owe own a house which is known as “family home” that holds family members together and instead prefer to live separately on rent. Furthermore, owning a house is considered as source of investment, which can be liquidated during difficult times. For example, an extensive study done by Money Control magazine showed that people who did not invest in buying their own house are usually face difficult times during their old age, as they cannot afford the rent prices due to low inflow of monthly income, and tend to use up their retirement savings to meet their monthly expenses. Thus, it is possible to state beyond doubt that owing a house in considered to be an important asset and results in being beneficial for the future.

From the arguments and examples given, I firmly believe people need to evaluate both the sides when opting for renting or buying a house.