In some countries, most people prefer to rent a house rather than buying one. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of renting.

Does owning a house in the contemporary era put a financial constraint on an individual? As a matter of fact, more often than not it is observed by many a man that in the current state of the economy, people are inclined to rent a place for living rather than building a house from the ground up. Although this trend renders benefits such as low maintenance cost as everything is included in the rent payable to the owner and liberty to shift to a different place in a moment’s notice, whereas the drawbacks of not owning a house can be seen in the age of retirement when there is no source of income cannot be ignored.

Arguably, getting a house of a lease is not considered to provide flexibility in the life of professionals for no reason. While getting a house on rent gives financial stability as there is no pressure of mortgage, an individual can cater to his requirement freely which can help the person to upgrade his lifestyle. A painstaking research has had been undertaken by Harvard University, which revealed that 58% of the people who purchased their own house in their middle age got into a debt trap, as they were unable to pay the large EMI’s of the house.

Notwithstanding the brighter side, it is not without its drawbacks. In the 21st century, the household depends on the culture where both husband and wife work to fulfill their needs. Since at the time of retirement the working capacity of the individual is limited, during that time it is difficult to maintain a lifestyle of paying a steady amount of pension towards the rent. For instance, no sooner did the individuals started saving at an early age for buying a house, than they were able to hold a financial asset at the time of their retirement.

To conclude, it can be asserted that renting a house in more valuable in the start of building a career, however, if smart investments are done for purchasing a house before retirement, it would lead to a socially stable and professionally enriching lives; lest good outcomes should be far out of reach.