In some countries, most people prefer to rent their homes rather than buying them. What are the advantages and disadvantages of renting a home?

In recent times, many individuals like to live in rented accommodation instead of buying a house. This trend could be attributed to the changing attitude of the younger generation towards long-term investment such as owning a home. Although renting a house could be an economically viable option for some, however, there are certain demerits to it.

On the one hand, people prefer to stay in rented houses or apartments due to several reasons. Firstly, it is easy to downsize if the money is short, and a person does not have to worry about paying a mortgage for an expensive property if they are unable to afford it. Often people face financial difficulties due to layoffs or businesses closures, therefore, shifting to more affordable housing becomes necessary for them. Secondly, those who have jobs that involve moving around the country or a city chose to stay on rent. Sales representatives are one such example since they have to travel for marketing and selling purposes. Therefore, the merits of not owning a house are cost-effective and convenient.

Despite the positives of renting a house, there are certain downsides to it. Often renovation or construction according to individuals taste cannot be possible as tenants are not allowed to make changes to the interior or exterior of the house. Moreover, the owner of the rented property can make changes to the amount of the rent or evict the occupants without prior notice. This can be a difficult situation for a person who is staying away from their hometown. Thus the tenants might have to live with certain terms and conditions since the landlord have the power to make changes to their contract.

To sum up, renting a home or an apartment can have certain positives and negatives, however, it depends on the individual's preference and their reason for choosing to stay as a tenant.