In some countries, people prefer to rent a house for accommodation, while in other countries people prefer to buy their own house. Does renting a house have more advantages or disadvantages than buying a house?

Some people choose to live in rented houses while other prefer owning a house. It is a big decision in a person's life and each option has its benefits and drawbacks. But, I opine that owning a house has more advantages than renting.

House ownership is normally indicator of high income and social status. It gives you freedom of customizing the property according to your needs and choice. Also, it is a financial achievement and gives you mental relaxation to be stable and free from the hassle of continuously looking for better renting places, rent negotiations and appraisals, difficult contract clauses, agreement ending and troubles of shifting. Additionally, in this technological age, with more and more room sharing and rental services available online, it is easier than ever to rent house fully or partially to generate income as well.

Nevertheless, sometimes renting a home is more suitable for various reasons. For example, it may not be feasible to buy a new house. Mostly, new house comes with a bigger initial investment and renting a home is more affordable. Moreover, most urban area around the world are so densely populated that houses are scarcely available for sale near city centers, and renting is the only viable option. Also, renting option relaxes you from property taxes and maintenance troubles, as house owner is responsible for these issues.

In conclusion, both options have its pro and cons, and choosing either option is not only a matter of preference but could also depend on various complex factors. That said, in my opinion, house ownership outweighs the rent option in most scenarios.