It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Some people argue that punishment is required to teach children the difference between good and bad, right and wrong, and correct or incorrect, but in my opinion if punishment is necessary then maybe we fail at teaching.

There is consensus among psychologists that punishment, whether psychological or physical, is harmful for a child’s personality development, and severe punishment is extremely prohibited as it has long term devastating effects on child’s mental health, but even mild amount is dangerous enough as I could make children extremely shy, curb curiosity, put life-long irrational fear in child’s mind. The exact effect of punishment may differ for individual cases, and it might bring obedience and rightfulness in short term but in the long run it’s harmful effects are well-documented in psychology.

There is no doubt that it is our duty as parents and teachers to teach younger ones about right and wrong, but we have to devise strategies which are healthy, benign and effective for teaching as well as for child mental growth. There may be some scenarios where we may think of punishment as the only solution but in my opinion it’s just laziness on our part. Teachers and parents have to collaborate and work hard to create an environment where children could learn about right and wrong things on their own, without the fear of punishment, and this could only be made possible with unconditional love, effective communication, strong connection and bonding, and proper education and feedback.

In conclusion, we have to use effective and healthy strategies to teach young generations morality, goodness, ethics and laws, and if we think punishment is necessary for this purpose then we have failed ourselves and future generations.