Some educationalists argue that non-exam, arts-based subjects, such as music, drama, art and craft, should be compulsory in the secondary-school curriculum. They believe that activities such as these can improve overall academic performance.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has become increasingly prevalent for people to say that the secondary –school curriculum has to include the arts-based courses to improve overall academic results. In my opinion, I absolutely agree with this point of view.

First and foremost, people should recognize the fact that these subjects provide a variety of knowledge in arts to the students so that they can persuade for their career in future. There is no denying that many talents were discovered when they show their artwork or performed in front of their classmates and teachers. For instance, Hien Thuc is one of famous female singers who has developed the talent from music courses at school.

Another reason why I agree with the mandatory arts-based subjects is that the pupils can be trained a range of skills when they focus on learning these. This means that when learners are studying to make artworks they have to be more careful, more patient to complete the task so these processes gradually help them get more useful skills for future demand. There is a study showing that the children who are taught with soft skills will be easier to success in future.

In conclusion, I totally support the point that pupils should be mandatory to study arts-based subjects from drama, crafts, arts to music in order to develop all-round qualification because these provide not only the foundation but also the helpful skills for leaners. However, each of us should consider carefully before reaching the final decision on this issue.