Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

Throughout last decade the number of employers who wanted to be on touch with their employees has drastically increased. Furthermore, a significant amount of people are convinced that managers wanted to contact with workers at any time. Personally, I believe that the fact that employers want to be on a call with their staff has more substantial drawbacks and that disadvantages outweigh the benefits.

One of the greatest disadvantages of being permanently on touch with bosses is that this type of contact leads to health problems for employees. In other words, any overtime work causes stress for staff and as a result can lead to mental illnesses. Moreover, a paper published by Dr Robert Wilson, a world-renowned specialist, reveals that more than 83% of people who were on a call with their managers out of the regular working hours, have psychological problems. Apart from that, another valuable disadvantage is that staff who are frequently contacting with bosses after working hours don't have time for their hobbies which lead to the fact that workers become unhappy at work.

One of the possible advantages of being on a call with employers is that workers can resolve all working problems quickly. That is to say that manager can tackle all issues which appear after working hours via phone. It can be illustrated by the latest research, conducted by Cambridge University which elucidated the fact that more than 45% of manufactures problems were prevented because of ability to contact with employees after working hours.

Taking all these points into consideration, it can be concluded that any contacts from managers after working hours are more deleterious for employees and that there are more cons rather than pros.