Some governments say how many children a family can have in their country. They may control the number of children someone has through taxes. It is sometimes necessary and right for a government to control the population in this way. Do you agree or disagree?

Controlling the burgeoning human population is the need of the hour. The global population is expected to cross 11.2 billion by the end of the 21st century and but according to statistics the earth cannot sustain more than 10 billion people. That means there is an urgent need to control the population growth. Some governments have already set a limit to the number of children a family can have and those who violate this rule are required to pay tax on the extra children. In my opinion, this is a viable measure that governments all over the world can implement.

To start with, imposing a tax on children who exceed the permitted number will send the right message to people. It will force lower and middle class families to limit the number of children they have. Affluent parents will also be influenced by this move because they will not want to expend their money in taxes for more children. The government can use the money thus collected for public welfare schemes.

Levying a tax on every second or third child will also indirectly make people realize the burden of population on the society. Parents will realize that every additional child destabilizes their financial security and hurts the economy of the nation. What’s more, this way of controlling the population sounds less harsh. Measures such as population awareness campaigns, celebrity endorsement and education programmes in schools are rather soft and ineffective. On the other hand, stringent steps such as forcible sterilization and a strict one child policy may outrage the citizens.

In summary, I believe that imposing taxes on children who exceed the permitted limit is an effective and rightful measure to control the population growth. It will convey the message that a family can have additional children only at their own expense.